Manga Underground is closing down

1 04 2007

Some of you might have already heard about rumors of Ceasing Letters from Korean & Japanese companies. Over the years, MU got lots of complaints from various companies to stop activity on this site. Companies like ADV, Daiwon, Dark Horse, Kadokawa, Tokyopop, Young Champ, VIZ etc. have sent us a fair ammount of letters and emails trying to make us go offline. We ignored them most of the time, or we’d just send them a Cease and Desist message like the guys from ThePirateBay have done with numeruos companies. Well our ignorance has reached its limit, it is time we comply to their requirements and shutdown, because if we don’t, they’ll launch a lawsuit against us, and to be frank, none of us has money nor the guts to put up with them, plus in the end it would be a meaningless fight, since you all know who would win(they of course). The staff was of course down when the final decision was made, I mean we all had fun here, we have you, the users/readers/viewers to thank for that, without you, this site would not have been the same, thanks also go to Mindwerks, the guys that hosted and put up with us up till now, they are really nice guys, thanks also go to the contributors to this site, Devin for hosting our manga archive and all, last but not least the authors deserve some thanks too, so *clapclap* for us. Well the site will be online for a couple of days, then the final shutdown message will be given, after that we won’t be responsible for what happens, so be careful everyone. As a parting gift we show you some of the letter they’ve sent us, you can curse them later on.

Letter 1Letter 2

~The Manga Underground Staff~

Important Announcement!

In order to discuss the situation and greet our readers,
we’ve decided to set up an irc web chat, which can be accessed over the chat banner.
Click on the banner, and you’ll redirected to our irc channel.
Thanks you for your support in the last years. You’re great!

silv


Actions

Information

75 responses

1 04 2007
MalkavianSniper

N O O O O O OOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

where would i got to get my Shin Angyo Onshi fix??😦

i was glad to have found you guys after randomly surfing the net. you’re awesome. gonna miss coming here.

1 04 2007
hobo

April fools……….

1 04 2007
Exaptor

“NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” was my reaction at first, then I looked at the letters😛 Then I was “Wtf O.o” until I realised what day it was today.
Gave me a damn good scare there😉

Love this site and you guys, so hate to see you go. But is the “Some of you might have already heard about rumors of Ceasing Letters from Korean & Japanese companies.” part true?😦 I pray its not, but suspect it is😦

1 04 2007
Exaptor

ops…dubble post, sry

1 04 2007
HappyJaZZ

Rofl😛 With my hangovers I took me some time to realize the date😀 But the letters kinda gave it away😉 well good one

Have a nice day guys😀

1 04 2007
sword

Dont do that to me i hav aweak heart

1 04 2007
Owak

Well… Goodbye and thanks for all.
MU was for me one of the better website.

1 04 2007
fate

i don’t think it as a april fool

1 04 2007
foggy

I’m so sorry for you … a big liar, lolz good good …

1 04 2007
Wayama

is this serius?? or it just an april fool’s joke? (Don’t make me heart attack!!)

1 04 2007
aryuwes

‘read’ the letters & you’ll know whether it’s true or not..

1 04 2007
Owak

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
1 st Avril………………. I just realize

I hate you…no wait… I love you…no…arrgh

I don’t know what to think right now….. That was a good one.

1 04 2007
Rangda

YOU GUYS!!!!!!!!!
You made me feel really crapy for a sec…… ufff!!!!
Hope to never see news like that for real!!!
Keep up your great work!
Love you!

1 04 2007
&re:)

They really got me for a sec :S

1 04 2007
sigi

hey at first you got me with this, this was not funny there are things you should not joke with like death and closing MU ^^

1 04 2007
neodragzero

Well, that was kind of obviously an April Fools joke. I guess it would help not having both manga underground and tokyotosho mentioning ADV…:D

1 04 2007
oedipus

lol, nice one xD
life would be boring whithout you guys😀

1 04 2007
OMG

Jezz =) I just woke up and u almost got me %__% I was like OMG WTF, then at the middle I was like “what date it is?!?!?” ^__^

1 04 2007
en_fer_mo

don´t you dare make fool of us “no surrender, no prisioner, Spartannnnn” ajajaja

Keep forward you are the best

1 04 2007
hanz

Dont forget its the frist april

mfg
hanz

1 04 2007
hanz

LoL

Frist April

YHBT

YOU HAVE BEEN TROLLED
LIKE DB WOULD SAY

NEVERMIND

1 04 2007
Zohannes

Heart_f**king_attack! >_

1 04 2007
fullmetalnip

This better be an april fools joke!! I was about to break down here. Where else can I get the fix of all my manga!! So say it aint true..

1 04 2007
milestailsprowe

come that was a horrible aprils fools, I hope it s Aprils fools. You guys are great. I need you for all the great manga updates yall do. you pretty much know What I WANT TO READ DONT GO

1 04 2007
Queenie

T_T
you guys gave me a big scare! well, i hope it is a big scare o.O u guys are really good at this april fools thing!! xD i wonder if the people who didnt realized this would have just left and never checked back..?

u guys rock! keep up the great work~

1 04 2007
rymes

I was sad until I clicked on the “letters” and thought to check the date. xD

But really. o_o Are you serious about the complaints…? Hm, it wouldn’t be suprising.

Keep up the good work~ ;

1 04 2007
foggy

where is the shoutbox ? you closed it for that April Fool trick ?😦

1 04 2007
rubedo6

God, you really know how to scare a person, the work you are doing is great, thanks and good luck!!! And please don´t say that you’re going to close this site…..

1 04 2007
Shoutbox

VAGABOND!!!! …..YEAH!!!!!!!!

1 04 2007
Shoutbox

AND UxU AND MY BALLS!!!!!!

1 04 2007
nimvus

haha nice April fools. Think you should have went on with it for another day.

1 04 2007
Bluemoon

o.k guys. you would really look a bad( or good) april fools joke? go to the side from naruto-fansubgroup “dattebayo”.

1 04 2007
Naba

T_T No… I can’t tell if it’s an April Fools or not.
But those “letters” don’t seem very convincing…

1 04 2007
nugetsnfries

Omg, not cool shizz….i really thought u guys were shutting down i was about to jump out the friggin window ~.~

Good joke tho, it had me going when i was reading it.

1 04 2007
Drase

You got me.😄

2 04 2007
Kino

Omg… april fools…? I feel like a dumbass…

2 04 2007
zokie

you totally had me at least :>

2 04 2007
WataAme

I’m confused… ”¬¬

2 04 2007
crazyankan

Over the years, MU got lots of complaints from various companies to stop activity on this site… was really scary for me😦

Still keep up MU´s good work mates!

2 04 2007
naruto_killer

Damnnnnn
This site is so good
i found this site by pure luck. damn the companies to hell. geeez greeedy bastards. fudgesickels i luved coming in on the site to find amazing manga to read.
Thanks for all the fun time MU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2 04 2007
nyoro~~n

I can’t even imagine the number of people who are not going to check anymore this site and won’t know that it was an april fool’s joke because they think MU’s really closed… Poor guys…

2 04 2007
Keeth

You know what?
I was depressed for awhile there.
Damn you.

2 04 2007
Käpt'n Krummbart

Ah c’mon mate, that’s a cheap Joke for April 1rst!! ;D

2 04 2007
fia

if this isn´t a aprils fool gag……. I am soooooooooooo sssssssssaaaaaaaaad

2 04 2007
Darius

Oh my god, they may not sue you, but I will. You guys cost me at least 10 years of my precious life. I was on the verge of crying and screaming and trying to download every last manga when I decided to read the comments and realized it’s just the april prank.

Phew…

2 04 2007
Grey

Hah! If this was April Fools then you guys suckered me. I only recognized the possibility after I saw someone else mention it in the comments.

Ahh, the message made me realize how much I’d miss MU. I really appreciate the time you guys put into this. 😀

2 04 2007
Grey

Hohoho. I only just now noticed the “letters” at the bottom of the post. I only took a quick gloss of the wall-of-text the first time through (because it’s so wall-of-texty), and missed the “letters” at the bottom.

You tricksy hobbits.

2 04 2007
Chokeonthefly

moh ! where’s the shoutbox!?!?! gimme back!!!

2 04 2007
Yen

Where is M’Shoutbox!!!!1111!! Where is M’Onion!!!!111!!

2 04 2007
RebelsOfLelouch

This sort of reminds me of the April Fool’s Joke from 1 year ago on Gamefaqs.com. They posted a huge image on the redirect that claimed that Gamefaqs was closing down due to anti-cheating lawsuits, etc.

Then, of course, there was the obligatory link at the bottom that said, “But if you want to continue to GFAQS, please click here.”

I think your 2 letters did exactly that.😄😄😄

2 04 2007
guyver

My heart sank. Then I read some of the posts. I give you guys props. Love you guys.

2 04 2007
kei

is this april fool’ joke?

2 04 2007
Magical Poof

DDDDDD: You tricked me!!!! I was all panicky ;_;

2 04 2007
Reizo

Man….!!!! you scare….!!!! really.!!! I though my day will doomed!! Argh…..!! Im love you guys. Keep good work…!!!

2 04 2007
max

i almost cry when i got that news..plz never ever saying that things again..

2 04 2007
dmgs

got me scared for a second, i thought i wouldn’t be tricked anymore by all those april fool’s jokes, keep up the good work

2 04 2007
azume

alors le premier avril n’est pas seulement une fête française
atention il y a des gens qui ont le coeur fragile
lol
the 01/04 it’s a horible day in France too
THere are a lot of think which hapen this day

2 04 2007
Tarias

i already deleted your page from my bookmarks till i remembered today, that i’ve been fooled😀

2 04 2007
AKPY

Its so sad… SO sad… I really want to cry.
This site has always been there for me, you know…
sniff sniff.

I cant take it anymore.

its been real fun,
thank you.

bye.

2 04 2007
zokie

surprising amount that didnt bother to read the other comments before posting their goodbys

2 04 2007
A

Ok was this april joke or are you really serious? D:

2 04 2007
SCiPiO

omg…I really was so NOOOOOOOO at first…thank god

I can’t live without this site

2 04 2007
Anonymous

nonononononononononononononononononononononononononon

2 04 2007
magnus

wuajjjjjjjjjjj, i’m from spain, and the fool joke it’s in 28 of december, so i was very surprised, because visit this site twice times day at least, iuf….. i’ve read de commentaries, and suddenly the sun rise, and the world become marvellous another time hahahahahaha

see ya

3 04 2007
az060693

I almost thought…. that I lost my crack… my drugs, most of manga fix….. I realized how much I love MU

3 04 2007
morex

that was a good April fools joke. you guys got me there for a moment

3 04 2007
morex

we need a forum. As you guys can see, we have a pretty good amount of members and it could be pretty cool to have one

3 04 2007
Harlekin

NIce one! You actually shocked me!

3 04 2007
Chokeonthefly

nooo forum suxx go irc and start harassing senbonzakura😀

3 04 2007
Sjet

Thank god wthout manga I would have to go outside for entertainment.
there are wolves out there.

3 04 2007
nightroad

god damn it you bastards (>

3 04 2007
Tsujigiri

lol, you got me there…I just realized it😮

3 04 2007
Tachikoma

There I thought “lawsuit ? couldn’t be…there are too many websites of this kind…plus they’d done it (closing down such manga sites) already if they could”.
Still, I believed it and wanted to read the letters. I opened them in new tabs. Darn, where did I click ? Where are the letters !
I was about to read the comments if people had talked about it but on the second comment something bugged me. “April fool” ? No…way !!!

4 04 2007
guyver

This site has a wonderful community. The mods are great. I wouldn’t let this die. Im pretty sure this place would be resurrected by the people. Thanks be to you MG.

4 04 2007
zeineath

ggrrrrr…. this really is a scary scare….




